We played the nap game today.
She thought it was hysterical when
I plopped her into the playpen and gave her a bottle.
She laughed at me and drank the whole bottle
in seven gulps as if to say, “I’m game, what’s next.”
I turned on the sheep of strange noises
the heartbeat pounded as she waved her legs in the air,
as if to say, “I’m not tired, look at the energy I have.”
I plopped down on the floor on the body pillow and
ignored the wiggling, giggling girl.

Typing a haiku must have a sedative effect to a 15 month old.
I noticed she was breathing rhythmically and
sucking on her fingers
eyes closed.

Today, I win.

Any thoughts on the above post are appreciated! Otherwise, I think I must be living under a rock.

