All I wanted to do this morning was write about the grackle screaming at me while I was taking a picture of my empty garden bed. I looked up and realized how close I was to the main entrance of the grackle nest in the eaves and how close she was to my head.  Crap! I’m about to get attacked by an angry mom grackle, so I snapped a photo and she bolted over to the tall tree ten feet away. “I have a camera and I’m not afraid to use it.” She doesn’t know that the clicking is not even a real click that exposes film, I’m using a digital single lens reflex camera. I suppose it is designed to make the photographer feel better.

No grackles were harmed during the writing of this blog.

She flew away and landed on the branch next to a bluejay that was watching in amusement until the grackle invaded his space. The Bluejay squawked and chased her away from his tree. She came back to the house tree using the leaves as camouflage along the back side. Away from my dangerous clicking camera.

I have become the cat.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Garden update: My pop bottle greenhouse was dismantled weeks ago and is in many garbage bags in the garage.  The soil from inside it will be packaged up and used to create container gardens until we can locate the septic tank clean out.

The previous owners are deceased and the installers of the tank were not that helpful in giving information regarding the location of the concrete cover.  They told me to get a sharp metal rod and poke around the yard.  I guess, they will not be my choice for emptying my septic tank.  We have taken four truck loads of plants to the new house.  They are hardy and probably have gone dormant.

I decided that container gardening and raised beds will be the quickest way to lay everything in so nothing dies.

We recycled the glass bottles that were insulating the lavender and sage over the winters.  I still never found my gladiola bulbs, sigh.  They get eaten from above and below.  Squirrels or grubs.  No biggie.

Next task is comfrey removal from the side of the garage, lilies, irises and sedum.  I have the silent sentinel today, he arrived two hours late for his visit.  It’s manual labor time.

There is oak tree recovery as well, but they are alive so I don’t really have to worry about them yet.  No rest for the wicked 🙂

4 thoughts on “No rest for the wicked

    1. I’m a real person outside. I feel like- taking time off to create a new garden environment will be very healing for my family. My boys don’t get it, but they will when they’re older, I hope.

      Like

  1. I listen to you and Plato talk about your gardens and I wish I had that kind of passion for it. I do NOT have a green thumb, however. Except for philodendrons which ANY fool can grow. If they don’t have enough dirt, they just attach themselves to the wallboard! No kiddin’! You shoulda seens its vines in my kitchen!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You have to want to garden to do the hard work necessary to grow things. Your passion is elsewhere where it should be. Not everyone can be a glutton for punishment, bugs, dirty nails, dive bombing grackles, spiders of all shapes, sizes and colors, bees, wasps, hornets, and Japanese beetles that eat everything in sight. I have little control, but I can plant seeds that jump out of the beds and grow 5′ from where I planted them. That’s the fun of gardening. Every seedling is a present. By the way, I can kill a philodendron, it’s my gift. I’m better with outdoor plants, unless it is a spider plant. I’ve been known to plant them in the yard…

      Like

Any thoughts on the above post are appreciated! Otherwise, I think I must be living under a rock.

