kicking aside the gel of life and
tripping over the roadblocks
I am trying to wade through this
patch of angry crabgrass that is
tangling with my ankles

I planted this grass seed
the label said, “Industrial,
Fast Growing Mix for Northeastern
States.” It should have said,
“For quicksand plant here!”

I lifted my hand and a voice
snuffled, “Ma-woof-woof!”

Today we will conquer these weeds Girly!
the hug from my little pterodactyl baby
is so strong. I will make it through the day.

I set her down and she stands on my feet.
Grounded, I can’t float off into my head.
I hear velcro, so I hope she’s stripping a
bunny toy and not herself.

2 thoughts on “Kick the Road

Any thoughts on the above post are appreciated! Otherwise, I think I must be living under a rock.

