Are you my hierophant?
Why do I cry when I hear your voice?
Is it that you have a direct line to
the source, the one, the truth?

In yoga, crying and yawning are resets
for the nervous system.
Do I need to be reset?
Should the world be reset instead?
Why should I have to adjust to the world
instead of just being in my space without interference?
Without interference, my space of just being
does not have to adjust to the world.

Instead of needing to be reset,
I need to rest within myself and
take comfort in who I am today.
Why do I cry at the sound of your voice?

My nervous system can function
without tears and yawning when I do yoga.
Your voice causes a release of emotion
that I hold captive on a daily basis.
My truth from the source goes
directly into my soul and I feel
tears welling up in my eyes.
My hierophant you are speaking to my heart.

A hierophant (Ancient Greek: ἱεροφάντης) is a person who brings religious congregants into the presence of that which is deemed holy. The word comes from Ancient Greece, where it was constructed from the combination of ta hiera, “the holy,” and phainein, “to show.” In Attica it was the title of the chief priest at the Eleusinian Mysteries. A hierophant is an interpreter of sacred mysteries and arcane principles.

2 thoughts on “My heirophant

  1. That is a really cool post. I agree with what you said. Why can’t we be just ourselves and that be ok? Why do we always have to change our masks according to who we’re with or where we are? Sigh…

    Liked by 1 person

Any thoughts on the above post are appreciated! Otherwise, I think I must be living under a rock.

