When the small girl would go
to bed, tucked in tight by
her mommie, she would ask
for all of her music boxes
and stuffed animals to be
wound up.

Worry, flashed across her
mother’s face, but she
humored the small child and
did as she asked.

One day her mother asked
her, “Why?”

The small girl replied,
“So I can hear the ones
I want to listen to
one at a time.”

Confusion flashed across her
mother’s face, but this time
the small girl anticipated
the question and explained.
“I can hear all of them or
some of them, I just have
to concentrate on the one
I want to hear, without
getting out of bed to wind
them up individually.”

Her mother gave her a
very strange look
but continued to accommodate
the small child until she
grew older and taller and
could reach the shelves
with the orchestra on it.

4 thoughts on “When the Small Girl

Any thoughts on the above post are appreciated! Otherwise, I think I must be living under a rock.

