poison ivy on her ankles
she cries and kicks like
the world is coming to an
end

the end hasn’t come yet

she flooded the bar
who knew that by throwing
a baton in the air a
faucet turned enough
to make the water flow

not in the sink but
on the counter a
waterfall on my art desk

she tried to tell me
there was water
I asked her if she
wanted watermelon

she walked away and
brought back a wet hand
My adult brain caught
up to the toddler brain
as I jumped up to see

where she got the cup
of water from. Twas no cup
but a faucet that sprang
a leak from my eyes

There are longer days
ahead this week

2 thoughts on “Water Melon

Any thoughts on the above post are appreciated! Otherwise, I think I must be living under a rock.

