I’ve been wandering
away from the computer in the mornings
getting kids on the bus
having a 7:15am meeting with the principal,
organizing my art studio and dreaming of future work.

Calensariel is a methodical blogger who manages to post writing prompts on schedule every week. (I’m sure it’s every week, she has a schedule that she sticks to that I appreciate, because I have NO schedule. There is an exception to everything in my world. Thanks Calen!) The challenge is below:

The Path to Success

What does success actually mean to you?

“Is there an a common thread that runs through all areas of success for you be they wealth, love, your job, happiness, etc.? Or does success mean something different for each of those things? That’s a puzzlement! Can’t wait to see what you come up with.

As always, remember to include the link to this post on YOUR blog post. Or if your response isn’t overly long, feel free to leave it in the comment section below. And remember you can interpret the prompt however you wish: memoirs, poems, pictures, etc.”

Success is progress making changes from where I was to where I am now.

Sure that may be a simplistic view of success,
but that’s what I believe today, right now.
In order to conquer the perfectionist within
I have to create limits that are achievable.

Today, I got my kids on the bus at 6:40am
I did two loads of laundry and
started the fire in the basement stove.
I joined my son’s band club phone tree.
I took my daily medication and antibiotics.

Success is the little things that help with the big things.
I took down my morning glory trellis fencing in the front yard
I spent fifteen minutes collecting pots and thinking about the next fence.
(When the county inspector was here, we talked about natural fences
made from fallen brush. That coincides with my views on mulching with weeds.)

It’s 10:59am and today was a success.
Now this afternoon, may color my opinion on the matter.
Tomorrow, I can’t speak of until then.

Success with my art is being able to create ideas
that may be plausible projects.
Having no deadlines helps me to enjoy my creativity.

I found my lost camera a month ago.
Finding it relieved the burden of guilt because
I had lost something that brought me joy.
I spent time charging the batteries
selecting memory cards that can hold
thousands of visual thoughts

captured by a click of the shutter.

I can’t relive that moment,
but I can revisit the mindset
with this device that
feels attached to my arm.

When I played the string bass,
I felt the same kind of connection
to my instrument.

My bow hung loose in my right hand as
my left grasped the fingerboard looking for the
correct placement to produce true sound.

Easing my elbow up,
I pivoted my finger and thumb
around the neck of my leaning instrument.

Not a squawk, but a breeze vibrated in waves
as the horsehair brushed the flatwound strings.
Increasing pressure, the vertical bow in motion
vibrated the horizontal string amplified by
the hollow box of the wooden instrument.

Success is falling in love with the moment of joy
as a snowflake falls on my toddler’s tongue.

The stars were out this morning as I gazed
up with my daughter wrapped in a comforter.
She followed the flight path of a plane
in that early hour. The echo of the engine
traveled behind the visual moving in the sky.

This is success.

6 thoughts on “Sandbox Writing Challenge 75

  1. “Success is the little things that help with the big things.” “Success is falling in love with the moment of joy…”
    Those are such beautiful lines. This is a very wonderful post. You are always so poetic, E. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ‘Success is falling in love with the moment of joy
    as a snowflake falls on my toddler’s tongue.’ – just perfect 🙂
    ‘Write right prompt prompt.’ So is this !!!
    May your days be filled with successes such as these

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I wish the same to you as well!

      My 14 year old was holding my 3 year old as they both caught snow on their tongues. I have to remember that MyChild (boy #3) is still a child and occasionally emerges from his dark corner to laugh. THAT is a great success.

      Liked by 1 person

Any thoughts on the above post are appreciated! Otherwise, I think I must be living under a rock.

