Leave Me by Gayle Forman came in the mail two days ago. I just got a chance this evening to read it. This is not a review of her book, but a thought that poured forth after I closed the book.

This novel arrived during the week
I contemplated running away from home.
Not the most mature thing
for a mother of four to do,
but tempting none the less.

Weighing the pros and cons
I never could have left.
Retreating to my studio
I sorted screws from nails
washers, nuts and drill bits.

The plight of the working mother
is daunting, frightening for our partners
and overwhelming for she who juggles
kittens while tap dancing on thin ice.
Everyone needs a vacation.

I’m five years overdue for my pardon.
An easing of the pressure, responsibilities
and guilt of a woman who chose
her happiness instead of the family unit.
I got tired of taking one for the team.

Members of the team all shoulder the weight. Am I right?
Or, was I asleep during the lecture about football.
“There’s no ‘I’ in team.”
So, why do I wear the most hats while putting out fires?
Because, I never learned to say “No.”

One thought on “Leaving

Any thoughts on the above post are appreciated! Otherwise, I think I must be living under a rock.

