Any sculptor worth her salt carries tools in her purse.

-Anonymous

 

When in doubt, weld the hell out of it.

-Anonymous

 

The best way to check your welds is to throw it down a flight of stairs.

-My college welding teacher

 

The best sculptors all had a trade to support themselves; I’m a carpenter.

-My college ceramics teacher

 

I think your sculpture would be better if you were in it downtown, naked on a busy street.

-My college sculpture installation teacher

 

I always thought you would be a painter.

-My high school art teacher

img_3472
I painted this is in 1985 or 1986.
2 thoughts on “Odd Quotes

    1. It really feels good when your sculpture survives the fall. I have also hammered on a piece of wood on top of my sculpture to test welds. That feels just as good. You know, you don’t need to have a sculpture under a piece of wood. You can just use a hammer, some long nails and a clear place in the yard 🙂 That feels really good. When done, pick it up, bend the nails over using the hammer and put the wood in your burn pile.

      Liked by 1 person

Any thoughts on the above post are appreciated! Otherwise, I think I must be living under a rock.

